Skip to main content

Chitta Vritti - Chitta Bhoomi (Yoga Sutra)

Chitta Vritti

"Vrttayah-panchtayah-klishta-aklishta" (Yoga Sutra- 1/5)

The transformation of the mind is vrtti. Despite being inanimate the Chitta, seems to be living entity due to the reflection of the self in it. It is these changes in the chitta which are known as its Vrittis or modifications. These modifications (vrtti) are due to ignorance and their result is bondage. Maharishi Patanjali has described five types of Chittavrtti– 

chitta vritti yoga

“Pramaana-viparya-vikalpa-nidra-smriti-Vritti" (Yoga Sutra- 1/6)

1. Pramana

2. Viparya



5. Smriti

1. Pramana: 

"Pratyaksha-anuman-aagamah Pramanani" (Yoga Sutra- 1/7)

Like Samkhya philosophy, yoga has also accepted three of Pramanas- Pratyaksh, Anumaan and Aagam. By going outside through the sensation, the Chitta attains the form of obyect. This is known as pramana.

2.Viparya : 

“Viparyo-Mithya-jnanma-tdrupa-pratistham” (Yoga Sutra- 1/8)

The false knowledge of anything is known as viparyaya.  That false knowledge is not established as a reality.


"shabdagyaanaanupati-vastushoony-vikalpah" (Yoga Sutra- 1/9)

This is knowledge in which the object which is known does not exist. In this knowledge, consciousness is the form of the Purusha, a disunction is made between the consciousness and the Purusha which actually does not exist. The conception of the two as distinct is vikalpa.


"Abhaava-pratyay-aalambana-vrtti-nidraah" (Yoga Sutra- 1/10)

The modification of the chitta which is the substratum of the knowledge of absence of anything ts known as nidra or sleep. Due to the preponderance of tamas in its vniti. There is absolute absence of the waking and dreaming modifications. But this stage should not be conceived as the total absence of knowledge. Because after arising from sleep the person has the consciousness that he had slept well. Hence, sleep is also a modification.

5. Smriti: (memory)- 

“Anubhoota-vishayaa-sampramoshah-smrti" (Yoga Sutra- 1/11)

The re-emergence of the previously experienced object is called memory. "In the Chitta" - These previous conditions of the event that occurred in the  over time again take the form of modification. In this way this cycle continues forever.

Chitta due course these predis positions again take the form of modifications. Thus the cycle goes on forever.

Chitta Bhoomi or States of Mind

Yoga philosophy describe into five Chittabhoomi or states of mind.

1. Kshipta

2. Mudha

3. Vikshipta

4. Ekagra

5. Niruddha

These are known as the state of mind or Chittabhoomi. 

1. Kshipta or Disturbed

The Ksipta phase (Kshipt Avastha) is a completely Rajoguni state. The mind in this state remains fickle. Mind constantly runs towards subjects.

2. Mudha or Stupefied

Mudha Avastha is a completely tamoguni state. In this state, ignorance remains in the mind. There is inertia in the intellect. There is a lack of accurate knowledge of the subjects. 

3. Vikshipta or Distracted 

This state of mind is also completely Rajoguni. But sometimes the effect of sattva guna also arises in this state. 

4. Ekagra or Concentrated 

The Ekagra state of mind is completely sattvaguna. In this stage, the real knowledge of the subjects starts arising in the mind. At the same time, the dispassionate feeling starts to get stronger. Happiness originates in the mind. 

5. Niruddha or The absolutely balanced state of mind

This state of mind is the Trigunaateet Avastha. By getting the knowledge of all the subjects through continuous practice, all the instincts end. In this state the mind becomes calm.

Ashtang Yoga 

Definition of yoga

Principles of Pranayama

Meaning and Definition of Hatha Yoga